AEM Internal Web Pages
Adjust Font Size: Normal Large X-Large

Associate Fellows of AIAA 2019 –Schwartzentruber & Ketema

AIAA logo

Thomas Schwartzentruber and Yohannes Ketema have been elected members of the 2019 class of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Associate Fellows. They join other members across industry, academia, and government honored by AIAA.

AIAA recognizes Associate Fellows as individuals who have accomplished or been in charge of important engineering or scientific work, or who have done original work of outstanding merit, or who have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. The AIAA will formally honor and induct the class at the AIAA Associate Fellows Recognition Ceremony and Dinner on January 7, 2019 at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego in San Diego, California, during its 2019 AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition.

“Each year, current AIAA Associate Fellows recognize the hard work, commitment, and innovative spirit of their colleagues and make them one of their own. AIAA Associate Fellows, as a group, are committed to pushing boundaries and testing new theories, resulting in the best ideas that can help transform aerospace across industry, academia, and government.” 
- AIAA executive director, Dan Dumbacher


Professor Schwartzentruber smiling
Professor Thomas Schwartzentruber
Photos Courtesy of Chris Cooper.

Professor Schwartzentruber, whose research focuses on computational gas dynamics and gas-surface interactions, was recognized by AIAA for his outstanding contributions to the science of aeronautics and astronautics.

Schwartzentruber utilizes particle simulation methods to model nonequilibrium and chemically reacting gas flows. He is one of the leading practitioners of a method called direct simulation Monte Carlo (DSMC), and recently completed a textbook on the subject published by Cambridge University Press. During his career at the University, not only has he made extensions to the DSMC method, he has also led the development of a new direct molecular simulation method for dilute gases, which relies only on the forces between atoms. Schwartzentruber’s research also focuses on understanding gas-surface chemistry at the molecular level. He co-authored a chapter on Surface Chemistry in Nonequilibrium Flows in a recent AIAA Progress in Aeronautics and Astronautics textbook in 2015, dedicated to Hypersonic Nonequilibrium Flows.

Schwartzentruber is co-author of two AIAA Thermophysics Best Student Paper publications and currently serves on the AIAA Thermophysics Technical Committee. He was a visiting Assistant Professor at the von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics in Belgium. He was the recipient of an Air Force Young Investigator Award in 2009, a Taylor Career Development Award in 2014, and he was named as the Russell Penrose Faculty Fellow in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics in 2015. 

His research is funded by NASA, the Office of Naval Research, Air Force Research Laboratory, and the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.


Professor Ketema smiling
Professor Thomas Ketema

Ketema, contract associate professor and faculty adviser for the student chapter at AIAA, was recognized by AIAA for his notable and valuable contributions to the science of aeronautics and astronautics.

His research focuses broadly in the area of dynamics. He has studied the dynamics of active materials such as shape memory alloys especially regarding their use for the purpose of vibration damping and control. Ketema has also done research in optimal trajectory generation for unmanned aerial vehicles, dynamics and stability of formations, orbital mechanics, and the mechanics of human walking. In particular, current research topics include asteroid deflection methods and the use of kinetic models of human gait for use in pedestrian navigation systems and related applications.

Ketema is faculty advisor for the student chapter of the AIAA at the University of Minnesota and faculty advisor for the CanSat group in the AEM Department. He is a multiple time recipient of the Outstanding Instructor Award from the Institute of Technology Student Board at UMN and a former director of undergraduate studies with AEM.

“I am proud to welcome the Class of 2019 to the ranks of Associate Fellows—which is an esteemed roster of aerospace professionals. Their dedication to their fields has set them apart, and they have been recognized by their peers as inspiring colleagues and mentors. I look forward to honoring their achievements at the 2019 AIAA SciTech Forum in January.”
– AIAA president, John Langford


Please join the department in congratulating Professor Schwartzentruber and Professor Ketema on becoming AIAA Associate Fellows. We wish them continued success in their future endeavors.

Faculty Page of Professor Schwartzentruber
Faculty Page of Professor Ketema
Attend the AIAA Associate Fellows Dinner
List of AIAA 2019 Associate Fellows

Last Modified: 2018-09-17 at 13:42:35 -- this is in International Standard Date and Time Notation